Free for the picking

I have two bottles of vitamins in my life, both inherited from my parents.  My Doctor father was a great believer in eating a varied diet, but he did make a small concession to supplements and would add a generic multivitamin, and a vitamin C tablet over the winter.  Every so often I think of popping a couple.

Recently I’ve been out walking and snacking on wild rosehips  (better after the first frost, but if you pick red ones that are elongated and soft you can start in on them now.)

Just how high in vitamin C are they?  1700- 2000 mgm in 100 grams of dried rosehips, retailed at about $25.00 a pound.  So I figure that two or three handfuls of fresh ones on a walk will more than do you for your day’s needs.

Rose_hips

Leave a Reply

