What kind of labels does God use?

“The very hairs of your head are all numbered, ” says the King James Version, and even the NIV.

I realized this morning that I’ve always had a background picture in my mind of God, in a white lab coat, meticulously adding little sticky tags.” Hair one, hair two-Abigail, Amy, Ann,. . . Whoops- there goes Zipporah.”

So I’m reading along with Monsignor Knox this morning and he says,

“As for you, he takes every hair of your head into reckoning.” Do not be afraid then, you count for more than a host of sparrows.”

I hustle back to the Greek, and the Biblical Greek English dictionaries.  ” Unfortunately, I have been happily applying the wrong meaning of the verb “number”.  In Greek it does not mean, “assign values to,”  sadly, it just means, “to count.- two thousand and one, two thousand and two”

I check the Nkonya translation, I don’t remember finding a a good word for “lab coat”. I breathe a sigh of relief.

It says, “God knows the count of the hair on your head.”

Still, be comforted- your assigned value is greater than a whole flock of birds.

“As for you, he takes every hair of your head into reckoning.” Do not be afraid then, you count for more than a host of sparrows.” (Matthew 10:31 Knox)

Leave a Reply

