Facing Our Fears

Sorry, but this topic keeps haunting me.

Yesterday I went to to the Post Office, located in the back corner of a Drugstore, to get a postal order. As I walked out, I slowed in repulsed fascination with the over-sized skulls leering at me from the shelves, and the equally grotesque smaller ones  perched on phony RIP grave markers.  I fingered the flimsy “sexy” costumes, titled “For the Evil Ball”

For eleven months of the year our culture works hard at denying death.   If it happens we pretty it up as much as possible. We may even feel awkward about how to express sympathy when a death has occurred.  Then every October the pendulum swings far to the sinister.

These are not new human concerns.   Here’s Job, followed by a video clip, only for the strong of stomach. It will tweak the memories of my generation (I can, shockingly enough, remember my mother singing it.)  The singer’s final comments are telling.

If the only home I hope for is the grave,
if I spread out my bed in darkness,
if I say to the grave, ‘You are my father,’
and to the worm, ‘You are my mother’ or ‘You are my sister,’
where, then, is my hope?
Who can see any hope for me?
Will hope go down to the gates of death?
Will we go down together into the dust?”

I know that my Defender lives,
and in the end he will stand upon the earth.
Even after my skin has been destroyed,
in my flesh I will see God.
I will see him myself;
I will see him with my very own eyes.
How my heart wants that to happen!
-New Century Version.

For I know that my Redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth:
And though after my skin, worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God:
Whom I shall see for myself, and mine eyes shall behold, and not another; though my reins be consumed within me.

-King James Version

3 Comments »

  1. adisasullivan said

    Can’t give you “The worms crawl in” without at least a link to a beautiful rendition of “I know that my Redeemer Lives. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEC5DAk4F7E&feature=related

  2. Lila said

    Christianity Today is featuring a couple of old articles about the controversy of “celebrating Hallowe’en.” The url’s follow:

    http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2000/october2/29.79.html

    and

    http://www.ctlibrary.com/ct/2000/octoberweb-only/42.0.html

  3. adisasullivan said

    Thanks Lila, articles well worth reading. Better to grapple the issue than to summarily dismiss it- which was my very first impulse.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

