Just mustard weeds

Recently I’ve add the pleasure of amateur photography to my walks.  Just a mid-range digital camera.  I’m inevitably disappointed with how it handles the “big picture.”   Scenes just don’t seem as vivid as they were to the eye.  But it can capture detail beyond what I can see unaided.  I keep being delighted by new perspectives.

How human to be constantly frustrated by inadequacy of vision, or intrigued by different magnifications.  Zoom in, zoom out.  Pay attention to details.  Don’t miss the forest for the trees.

This morning I am thankful for a God whose sight surpasses the limitations of the Hubble telescope or the electron microscope-with no need to adjust focus.  He surely knows  and constantly delights in the myriad complexities of his creation, and yet nothing is infinitesimal or improbably immense to him.

I am thankful for the range of vision he allows me.

And I am thankfully sure that he never says,  “It’s just a weed.”

p.s. Got to go weed the flower bed, those amazing creations are taking over!

Leave a Reply

