If you know the name

Madeline L’Engle was right when she wrote in “A Wind in the Door” about the importance of naming.

“Progo!” Meg asked. “You memorized the names of all the stars—how many are there?”

“How many? Great heavens, earthling, I haven’t the faintest idea.”

“But you said your last assignment was to memorize the names of all of them.”

“I did. All the stars in all the galaxies. And that’s a great many.”

“But how many?”

“What difference does it make? I know their names. I don’t know how many there are. It’s their names that matter.”

Charging around the internet with a photo of an unidentified flower in hand is a most haphazard and unrewarding experience.  So I went down to the library this afternoon and came home with a selection of books on Alberta flora.

With their help I am gradually putting names on the flowers I’ve been photographing and happily throwing up on this blog just as “pretty”.  I also discovered that once one has a name, common or scientific, the internet becomes a treasure trove of information.

It led me to a site-with a totally unremarkable home page which none-the-less  has treasure trove of beautiful pictures of Saskatchewan wild flowers– one of the best collections I’ve stumbled on yet.  So nice that Prairie Flowers don’t recognize provincial boundries and many bloom here in Red Deer.

1 Comment »

  1. lila1jpw said

    Thanks so much for the heads up about the Prairie wild flower page.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

