What the Locusts have eaten

This week in Red Deer two tragic deaths have made the news headlines.  A 12-year-old boy died on Thursday after  the door of a covered utility trailer fell on him,  and a seventeen year old was found by the side of a highway with a fatal head injury at 1:30 am in the morning.  The boy and his family attend the same large church we attend, the teen on the highway was found by the friend of a friend, so yesterday each of these deaths, of strangers, was on my mind.

When things like this happen I find myself rehashing my mental defenses to death, evil, suffering.  “God is good.” “Shall not the judge of all the earth do right.” “His ways are not our ways, his thoughts are not our thoughts.” ” I am limited to the small picture.  I see the stone entering the water but I do not see the extent of the ripples.” God does.

Last evening I was talking with my Blog Guru and he said, “One of the core problems is that we don’t really believe that God can restore.”  Restoration is of course something that the Bible is shot through with- but I’d never real  thought of it as a key response to the unthinkable happening.

I feel like I have added a new piece of mental protection.  God is good, he is in control, he is the righteous judge, his knowledge is complete, and he is the one with the power and the desire to restore. He begins the process of restoration in the here and  now, and in the future he will complete the work when he wipes every tear from our eyes and makes all things new.

His best restoration work occurs when we give him a free hand.

Leave a Reply

