Inhabiting the Bunny Hill, with a wave to the White Rabbit

A couple of weeks ago, in the interest of taking further steps in the same direction, I invested in a pair of swim goggles so that I could open my eyes under water,   and a swimming cap to control strands of floating hair.  Then I asked the lifeguard what she taught little kiddies after they’d learned to blow bubbles.  Finally I googled YouTube for how-to videos.

Embarking on a new endeavor leads to some interesting conversations.

One day a lady in the sauna confided to me that while she’s always wanted to learn to ski she is afraid of falling. This year she intends to ski, but only on the Bunny Hill. She has told her significant “other” that she will begin and remain on the Bunny Hill. If she never skies anywhere else, it’s sufficient.  At no time is he to suggest a move to something more advanced.  I rejoiced to find a kindred spirit.

Today I shared the “slow” lane at the pool with another lady. I told her to take the lead as it was only my second week of really, truly swimming. Turns out she took her own first lessons four months ago.  She started out using flippers, then abandoned them after a few lengths.  Told me I was an inspiration to her, swimming without.  Apparently flippers assist because they keep your legs higher and allow you to concentrate on form.  I smiled and reminded her that not having taken lessons, I didn’t have to worry about such things. She laughed.  Then she asked me what my goal was and I spluttered slightly- goal?  Do I have to have a goal, other than balancing hours spent on the computer and doing just a titch more today than yesterday?

Rick Warren would undoubtedly throw up his arms in despair at my attitude.

Alice, having spent time in the Looking Glass World,  would understand.

Leave a Reply

